book reviews

Book Review: Black Cake

Book Details: Published Date: January 1, 2022Author: Charmaine WilkersonGenre: Historical Fiction, AdultFormat: Hardcover (Book of the Month, January '22)Length: 391 pages We can’t choose what we inherit. But can we choose who we become? In present-day California, Eleanor Bennett’s death leaves behind a puzzling inheritance for her two children, Byron and Benny: a black cake, made from a family recipe with a… Continue reading Book Review: Black Cake

book reviews

Book Review: The Black Kids

Book Details: Published Date: August 4, 2020Author: Christina Hammonds ReedNarrator: Kiersey ClemonsGenre: Young Adult, Fiction, Historical, RealisticFormat: AudibleLength: 8h 55m Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel explores issues of race, class, and violence through the eyes of a wealthy Black teenager whose family gets caught in the vortex of the 1992 Rodney King Riots.Los… Continue reading Book Review: The Black Kids

book reviews

Book Review: The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

Book Details: Published Date: June 13, 2017Author: Taylor Jenkins ReidGenre: Fiction, Adult, Romance, LGBT, HistoricalFormat: KindleLength: 398 pages Aging and reclusive Hollywood movie icon Evelyn Hugo is finally ready to tell the truth about her glamorous and scandalous life. But when she chooses unknown magazine reporter Monique Grant for the job, no one is more astounded than Monique herself. Why… Continue reading Book Review: The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

book reviews

Book Review: Harlem Shuffle

Book Details: Published Date: September 14, 2021Author: Colson WhiteheadGenre: Fiction, Adult, Mystery, Thriller, HistoricalFormat: HardcoverLength: 336 pages To his customers and neighbors on 125th street, Carney is an upstanding salesman of reasonably priced furniture, making a decent life for himself and his family. He and his wife Elizabeth are expecting their second child, and if… Continue reading Book Review: Harlem Shuffle

book reviews

Book Review: The Vanishing Half

Book Details: Published Date: June 2, 2020Author: Brit BennettNarrator(s): Shayna SmallGenre: Historical, Fiction, AdultFormat: Kindle/AudiobookLength: 350 pages/11h 34m The Vignes twin sisters will always be identical. But after growing up together in a small, southern black community and running away at age sixteen, it's not just the shape of their daily lives that is different as adults, it's everything: their families,… Continue reading Book Review: The Vanishing Half