book reviews

Book Review: When You Get The Chance

Book Details: Published Date: January 4, 2022Author: Emma LordGenre: Fiction, Young AdultFormat: HardcoverLength: 308 pages Nothing will get in the way of Millie Price’s dream of becoming a Broadway star. Not her lovable but super introverted dad, who raised Millie alone since she was a baby. Not her drama club rival, Oliver, who is the very definition of Simmering Romantic… Continue reading Book Review: When You Get The Chance

book reviews

Book Review: Fable (Fable #1)

Book Details: Published Date: September 1, 2020Author: Adrienne YoungGenre: Fantasy, Young AdultFormat: HardcoverLength: 361 pages Filled with all of the action, emotion, and lyrical writing that brought readers to Sky in the Deep, New York Times bestselling author Adrienne Young returns with Fable, the first book in this new captivating duology.Welcome to a world made dangerous by the sea and by those who wish… Continue reading Book Review: Fable (Fable #1)

book reviews

Book Review: The Black Kids

Book Details: Published Date: August 4, 2020Author: Christina Hammonds ReedNarrator: Kiersey ClemonsGenre: Young Adult, Fiction, Historical, RealisticFormat: AudibleLength: 8h 55m Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel explores issues of race, class, and violence through the eyes of a wealthy Black teenager whose family gets caught in the vortex of the 1992 Rodney King Riots.Los… Continue reading Book Review: The Black Kids

book reviews

Book Review: Skin of the Sea (Skin of the Sea #1)

Book Details: Published Date: November 9, 2021Author: Natasha BowenGenre: Fiction, Young Adult, Fantasy, RetellingsFormat: HardcoverLength: 336 pages A way to survive. A way to serve. A way to save. Simi prayed to the gods, once. Now she serves them as Mami Wata—a mermaid—collecting the souls of those who die at sea and blessing their journeys… Continue reading Book Review: Skin of the Sea (Skin of the Sea #1)

book reviews

Book Review: This Poison Heart (This Poison Heart #1)

Book Details: Published Date: June 29, 2021Author: Kalynn BayronGenre: Fiction, Young Adult, FantasyFormat: HardcoverLength: 384 pages Briseis has a gift: with a single touch she can grow plants from tiny seeds to rich blooms.When Briseis's aunt dies and wills her a dilapidated estate in rural New York, Bri and her parents hope that surrounded by plants and flowers, she will… Continue reading Book Review: This Poison Heart (This Poison Heart #1)